Spooky Bonanza

So, Halloween is nearly upon us, and I have been getting pretty excited. (If you follow me on Instagram this is pretty obvious!) I managed to restrain myself from putting the decorations up on October 1st, and as we had company on Saturday night I decided to crack them out at the weekend. I have always loved a bit of Halloween tat, but I like to think that i’ve managed to make it look fairly tasteful in our lovely little old house. With the decorations come the spooky pins (which I collect) and jewellery, like this little Tatty Devine ghost that Lee bought me a couple of years ago. I love it all! We went to visit Lee’s family the weekend before last, so I decided a funereal look was required.

IMG_9042

Barnaby the pug.

IMG_9052

My new pins from deer heart.storenvy.com

IMG_9059

When I have been on a late shift (8:30 pm finish) or if it has been my course night, I love getting back to this cosy sight.

IMG_9066

I paid a tenner to get this fella over from America. He’s a vintage Hallmark wind-up dracula, and I’m in love.

IMG_9115

Yet more Halloween crap! Gotta love a solar powered dancing skeleton and pumpkin man!

IMG_9123

Our front door.

IMG_9126

The mantelpiece takes on a Halloween theme.

IMG_9127

IMG_9147

My nieces 7th birthday was last week, so we went to visit my sister and family on Sunday. The girls are Harry Potter obsessed, and this reached a peak when they visited the HP studio tour on Harriets bday. I made her a themed box for good measure.

IMG_9159

IMG_9167

Nothing like a good hot Sunday Roast dinner with family.

IMG_9169

Followed by one of my favourites, Apple Crumble and custard!

IMG_9171

I love visiting Kate and her little fam, they’re house always feels cosy and warm. They’ve just moved into this house, but I think it’s grand.

IMG_9182

IMG_9183

We had to re-arrange the front room to accommodate our new rather large TV table, and I prefer it so much! I got a new Weeping fig tree to fill the empty space we created.

IMG_9198

Lee’s bro bought some tasty meringues from Selfridges.

IMG_9213

Another cosy return home!

IMG_9220

Tonight I went into town to meet my friend as she had got tickets for a live ‘horror’ experience called ‘The Morgue’ in Birmingham. I was kinda freaking out all day worrying about being terrified, but I jumped on the bus to meet her. The Cafe opposite the bus stop looks really inviting now the evenings are getting darker and colder.

IMG_9226

IMG_9227

IMG_9228

IMG_9230

It was really well done, specially knowing that the people who have created it are not professionals and that this was there first endeavour. I was really impressed, and luckily not as petrified as I had thought i’d be. There were lots of ‘jumpy’ bits, and the sights, sounds and smells were all creepy and disturbing, but I think I handled it pretty well given that I jump out of my skin when the toast pops up or the postman puts letters through the letterbox.
IMG_9231

Leave a comment